3/52 – Rearview Mirror

This week’s tune is a love song for a city. It packs a bit more punch, since I’ve acquired a kick pedal (I had been playing the bassdrum with a beater), and the Danelectro makes its first appearance. I didn’t obsess over detail like I did with the last tune, so things are a bit sloppy, but you know what they say, sloppy is as sloppy does.

In other news, Travis Reitsma‘s album “Outside The Factory Gates” is now available. Highlights include Beggars, RenĂ©e’s Song (which is an instrumental), and Neodepression. You can hear us play some of those tunes with Erik Myskow at Phog Lounge this Friday, the 29th, supporting Mr. Ron Leary and his band. His grimy old shoes have seen miles and miles and miles.

Rearview Mirror

Dig myself a hole
Watch you from the outskirts within
’til fair weather beats your bones
And the men have marched on the hill
And the holidays came too soon

Talk to me in whichever language you choose, I’ll understand
I believe my life is safe in your hand,
I don’t believe yours is safe in mine.
And I will find out how you did it, how you got away,
You know I will.

Downtown streets damp as hell in the Eastern sun
I’m barely awake as the rain sets in,
Running me out to the Western road.
And I will find out how you did it, how you got away,
You know I will.

Oh, I tried to leave today,
Just to see you in my rearview mirror.
I tried to leave today, just to see you in my rearview mirror.

I will find out how you did it, how you got away,
And the holidays come too soon

-dgh

My roof in Montreal

Categories: Music | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “3/52 – Rearview Mirror

  1. Are you happy now??

    Also, nice song.

  2. sometimes, brave derek…sometimes sloppy is the only way to go. i’m talking about hamburgers, people! get your minds out of the gutter.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

