RPM

We’ve been talking about this for a while. We never dreamed it would turn out so well.

The first time I moved to Montreal was with one of my oldest friends, Eric Billingsley, an endlessly inventive creative powerhouse. He had been living in Ottawa and I had been living with my parents in Harrow, a community about 30 minutes south of the Windsor/Detroit border. Eric had been offered an eight-month contract to work in Montreal, from January until August, and invited me to join him, just for the hell of it.

I didn’t need any more reason than that.

In July of that year I left Montreal to travel. I toured around Ontario a bit playing gigs with Travis Reitsma and then I spent some time in Lithuania (a story for another day).

Despite visiting a couple times, I only finally moved back to Montreal in May of 2010, and I gave my current roommate Joe the same offer.

“Hey Joe, you should move to Montreal with me, just for the hell of it.”

He didn’t need any more reason than that.

Joe and Eric just happen to be the two other members of Thunder Bishop. Ever since Joe and I came to Montreal, we’ve been talking about the inevitable reunion of the band. Finally, we decided it would happen in February, and that the occasion would be the RPM challenge.

The challenge is simple: write and record an album in the month of February, just for the hell of it.

We didn’t need any more reason than that.

Joe and I had originally intended to spend every weekend in February in Ottawa, working on the album. Eventually, because the bus sucks and costs money, we decided to try to finish the album in only two weekends. As the first weekend approached, we started to get concerned, so we suggested to Eric that maybe he should come to Montreal one extra weekend so that we’d have more time to write and rehearse.

“What,” said Eric, “You don’t think we can do it all in one weekend?”

To be honest, I thought that finishing it in one weekend was completely out of the question. But I had forgotten one detail: we are Thunder Bishop.

We got to the space early Saturday afternoon and 29 hours later we were finished. 12 brand new tracks in the bag.

Thunder Bishop – The Shape of Shapes to be Shaped will be released on February 28th. Stay tuned for some free samples.

-dgh

Categories: Music | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “RPM

  1. Pingback: On Writing and Other Things « Derek Harrison's Dirty Fingers

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

